Get the best auto insurance rates in Missouri. We find the cheapest prices in the Show Me State so you can save hundreds of dollars and reduce your premium. Our free online quotes only take a moment, and you could save as much as 45% off your MO. car premium. You can purchase your policy in minutes, and get coverage the same day. By shopping multiple companies, you get the best rates. Special discounts are available for Seniors, good students, homeowners, vehicles with alarm systems, and good drivers.
Whether you're a preferred driver or an accident waiting to happen, we show you the most affordable offers in your area. Through a combination of modern software and our personal and professional experience, you can compare the cheapest Missouri auto insurance policies in seconds. Many companies have very attractive deals, and we research and review all major carriers. If you need help with reinstating a license, we'll guide you through the process. Whether you reside in St. Louis, Springfield, Kansas City, Independence, Columbia, Saint Charles, or any other city, lowering your premium is our priority.
There are MO specific state minimums that must be met on any policy you purchase. For example, the lowest bodily injury limits allowed are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. An additional $10,000 of property damage is required, which will not be sufficient if you are negligent, and cause the total loss of one (or more vehicles). If you collide with a building or other property, the damages could easily exceed $10,000. Increased amounts of $25,000 or $50,000 are recommended. NOTE: Proof of insurance is required when a license plate is renewed and when your vehicles are registered. Your carrier can provide the paperwork via fax, email, or through the mail.
Uninsured motorist protection (for damage resulting from other drivers without coverage) is also a state mandate for the same $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. If you are uninsured while involved in an accident, you can not fully recover damages, regardless if the other driver was 100% at fault. Missouri State Statute 303.390 does not allow for recovery of non-economic loss vs. a driver that was at-fault in an accident. NOTE: The statute can be waived if drugs or alcohol were involved, or a policy cancellation occurred more than six months before the date of the accident.
Underinsured motorists, medical payments, towing and labor, and rental car reimbursement are options that can be added to your policy. If you are a AAA member, you do not need to pay for additional towing benefits. Some credit cards may also provide free towing and/or substitute transportation. GAP protection should always be considered for leased vehicles with no down-payment. If the car or truck is involved in a total loss, GAP coverage will pay for the difference between the market value of the vehicle and your outstanding financed amount.
We recommend increasing the state minimum limits, especially the property damage amount. For example, increasing that limit to $25,000 will only result in a moderate increase. Raising the bodily injury amounts to $50,000/$100,000 or $100,000/$300,000 will not necessarily substantially raise your rate. Increasing collision, and possibly your comprehensive deductibles will easily offset any higher premiums that result from the change. If your vehicles are financed or leased, it is likely you will be required to raise limits and add collision and comprehensive coverage. A maximum deductible of $500 or $1,000 may apply, and your lien holder must be sent a copy of your insurance declarations page.
Also, it's good financial planning to review your limits every five years. The combination of inflation and average value of other vehicles makes it prudent to slowly bump up your limits on a regular basis. In the future, if state laws cap the amount of judgements that can be rewarded, you may not have to raise your benefits. If Missouri ever becomes a "no-fault" state (which we don't believe will occur), additional changes to policies can be expected.
You can provide an alternative proof of financial responsibility to satisfy state requirements. There are three ways to prove you are compliant, and none are very popular. They are: a surety bond, real estate bond, or depositing specific securities or cash in the State Treasurer's office. The amount must be at least $60,000, which may be one reason why this option is seldom used! Purchasing minimum-liability limit coverage is much easier and provides better benefits. And you won't have to spend $60,000!
Should You Keep Collision Coverage?
Uninsured motorists protection is required by law, although underinsured coverage (if you don't have enough coverage) is optional. Medical payments is also optional, and the collision and comprehensive benefits (they cover your vehicle) are going to be needed if you finance the purchase or lease of the vehicle. After there is no loan, it's advisable to keep the collision benefit for a few additional years. If your vehicle has low mileage and is not rapidly depreciating, you may want to delay deleting collision benefits.
Once the value of the vehicle is less than $5,000, it may be time to remove the coverage, especially if you have liquid cash available for a down-payment on a new/used vehicle. The condition and the odometer reading will help determine the best time to change or remove collision benefits. If other drivers regularly use the vehicle, that could influence your decision. Reputable car dealerships and CarMax can provide a free estimate of the vehicle's wholesale value.
The frequency of your claims within the last 10 years can also help you decide when to drop collision coverage. If you have had two or more accidents, the likelihood of another occurring is fairly high, especially if the vehicle is driven more than 20 miles every day. However, if the vehicle is not driven often, and has high mileage, deleting the collision benefits should be strongly considered. You can choose to keep comprehensive benefits (fire, vandalism, theft, and glass breakage) along with required liability coverage.
I Live In St. Louis. Is That Good Or Bad?
Actually, neither. Although larger cities tend to have more claims than smaller towns, it does not necessarily translate to higher auto insurance prices. While there are certainly specific zip codes within St. Louis county that will have higher premiums, than most other areas, by taking advantage of available discounts, you can reduce your cost. Although Missouri is not one of the states with the best car insurance prices, typically, costs are still competitive with some of the surrounding states, including Illinois and Arkansas.
Also, the surrounding areas around St. Louis are likely to feature more competitive offers from all companies. Some of these counties include St. Charles, Franklin, Jefferson, Washington, Warren, Crawford, Montgomery and Lincoln. Prices, of course, can depend on many factors other than location. Often, a "zip code" rating is utilized instead of a "county" rating. This means that you occasionally may see different rates within the same county. Zip codes in the St. Louis area with attractive rates include 63117, 63105, 63130, 62201, 63147, 63137, 63133, 63121, 63135, 63199, 63182, 63197, 63195, 63188, 63180, and 63136.
NOTE: Ongoing construction must also be considered since additional traffic accidents generally occur when St. Louis highways are involved. The Congressman Clay Sr Bridge (aka Poplar Street Bridge) construction in recent years has impacted I-44 and I-55 traffic, especially when crews are working on ramps. Downtown lane closures always cause congestion, and I-64 and I-70 frequently have delays because of maintenance. As these projects get completed, it will create a much safer driving environment.
What Are the Most And Least Expensive Cities?
We spent more than a year researching many variables to determine the areas that cost consumers the least (and most) to insure their vehicles. Some of the numerous factors that carriers use that influenced the rankings were: weather conditions, average credit of community, average income, age, number of uninsured vehicles, average value of vehicles and cost of repair, incidences of theft, and percentage of drivers under age 25.
The 10 cities with the lowest rates are: Dexter, Columbia, Jefferson City, Fulton, Sedalia, Rolla, St. Peters, Wentzville, O'Fallon and Maryville. The 10 most expensive cities are: St. Louis, Hazlewood, Grandview, Kansas City, Spanish Lake, Old Jamestown, Sullivan, Lemay, Ferguson, and Union. It's important to note that differences in premium can change multiple times per year. And of course, the types of vehicles you own, and the age and MVR of occupants of the household impacts what you pay. NOTE: Additional cities with very attractive prices include Bethany, Maryville, Ozark, Marshall, Chillicothe, Kirksville, Moberly, Neosho, West Plains, Perryville, and Garrison.
What If I Am Not Currently Covered Or I Have A Lot Of Tickets On My Record?
Good news! You can still purchase a policy fairly quickly. Although you may not receive a "preferred" rate, it doesn't mean that you can't get affordable pricing. Also, we help you find companies that specialize in low down payments and monthly billing. If you need same-day coverage, it usually can be arranged. A DUI, Hit & Run or Reckless Operations will raise your premium, but you will still be able to purchase coverage. Although moving violations (speeding, failure to yield, failure to signal, reckless driving, and driving under the influence) will increase prices, parking tickets, along with littering, and noise ordinance violations, do not raise rates.
In Missouri, if you accumulate eight points during an 18-month period, you could lose your license. So it's important to be aware of the specific dates and details of your violations. Once we are provided with your basic information, it's much easier to find the lowest prices for you. Actually, there are companies that regularly have better prices for drivers with a lot of tickets and accidents on their record. Once your record cleans up, we can switch to carriers that provide better rewards for clean driving records. Each year you drive without a moving violation or at-fault accident, your rate can reduce by as much as 20%.
If your license is suspended for accumulating too many points, you will be required to file an SR-22 Bond and pay a $20 reinstatement fee. The second suspension results in a $200 fee and the third suspension will cost you $400. The SR-22 Bonds must remain in force for three years from the reinstatement-eligibility date. During that time, it will be difficult to obtain "standard" rates, especially if additional activity occurs. An additional DUI or DWI can result in an additional three years of the SR-22 Bond requirement.
The Department of Revenue provides additional details regarding license suspensions, and the reinstatement process. Additional topics that help consumers include driver's license fees and identity requirements, renewals for active-duty military personnel and their dependents, commercial driving certification, ignition interlock devices, and earning a veteran designation.
How Are My Premiums Calculated?
There are many different factors that affect the amount you pay. Of course, your driving record is perhaps the biggest determinant. The difference between one violation on your record and three violations could be substantial. However, since we shop multiple companies, often we can pinpoint an offer that "forgives" you for one or more of the tickets or accidents. Also, some carriers underwrite risks based on a three-year driving history while other carriers review the last five years.
Also, the types of discounts offered by each carrier will impact the buying process. For instance, if you have a high-performance sports car, it's imperative to select the company that specializes in that type of risk. Otherwise, you could pay hundreds of dollars more in unneeded premiums. Generally, carriers that underwrite a greater volume of high-performance vehicles, also offer the best prices since they understand the market.
Your age and zip code will also play a role. And of course, the type of vehicle you drive always is important. Not all expensive cars are more expensive to insure, and not all old vehicles are the cheapest. But typically, the value of the vehicle is a good indicator of the potential premium. As they depreciate, the cost of coverage reduces, but is often offset by increases in other components of the policy. Once collision and comprehensive benefits are deleted from your policy, the premium can reduce by as much as 40%. If your vehicle is placed in storage for six months (or longer), you may be able to waive the required liability coverage during the time it is not driven.
Other variables include your liability limits and deductibles, where the car is housed or garaged, ages of the principle drivers, and sometimes the credit history. If you have a recent bankruptcy on your record, it could increase prices with certain carriers. If you would prefer to apply for coverage from a carrier than does not use credit as part of their underwriting criteria, please contact us. You are entitled to one free credit report every 12 months (Fair Credit Reporting Act). We encourage all policyholders to take advantage of this feature.
Which Companies Have The Lowest Car Insurance Rates In Missouri?
Before providing a list of carriers that offer the best prices, it's important to note that rates will vary from one county to another. For example, one specific company may offer the best deals in Jackson County, yet in Clay and St. Louis counties, they may not be as competitive.
Some of the companies on this non all-inclusive list include: State Farm, American Family, Farmers, Shelter Mutual, Automobile Club, Safeco, Progressive, Geico, Farm Bureau and Allied. And there are many other insurers that have very attractive offers in certain areas of the state. There are actually more than 200 companies that offered coverage last year.
Some of the fastest growing carriers include Progressive, Safeco, Geico, Nationwide and USAA. The companies that were able to show the largest profit last year (per dollar of premium collected) were Safeco, Farm Bureau, Allstate Fire & Casualty, Progressive Preferred, and USAA.
What Is The Best Way To Lower My Current Premium?
There are a few things you can do. Of course, comparing rates from at least a few other carriers is the first thing you should do. We make that easy for you. It's also important to know and understand all available discounts and how to determine if you qualify and/or receiving them. For example, many carriers have extremely attractive offers for drivers between the ages of 35-55. Other companies have favorable rates for either Seniors or persons under age 30. If you own a small business, a commercial policy may offer affordable options. By letting us find the best options, you should save money...perhaps as much as 30%-50%.
For example, if you're over the age of 50 and both of your children are excellent students (high school, college or grad school), finding a carrier that maximizes the "good student" and "50 and over" discounts may be a big money-saver for you. We'll compare the differences for you. However, if the savings is nominal, it isn't worth changing companies when one of the causes of reduction will be ending shortly.
One important consideration that does not relate to policy pricing is the "complaint ratio" of each company. The Missouri Department of Insurance publishes (available in pdf format) an index that measures the volume of complaints received by companies for the last 36 months. Of course, a lower index means fewer complaints per policy issued. And these carriers are always worth considering, especially if their rates are competitive.
August 2014 -- Distracted drivers will be monitored much more closely as the "MO Eyes On The Road" campaign has begun. Since four out of five accidents involve some form of driver distraction, it's hoped that positive results will occur quickly. Texting, speaking on a cell-phone, eating, and drinking are primary reasons for almost 30 road fatalities so far in 2014. There have also been more than 100 injuries reported.
April 2015 -- Hail insurance claims in Missouri significantly increased last year. According to S. Farm, both auto and home policies saw three-fold increases in both the amount of money paid to customers and the volume of claims. More than 20,000 claims were submitted, which was sharply higher compared to previous years.
Texas and Illinois had the highest number of losses and Missouri was ranked fourth of all states. Of course, all hail damage can be prevented if your vehicle is parked in an enclosed space or garage, assuming a proper weather condition warning was available.
March 2017 -- Recent severe weather, including several tornadoes, have prompted the Missouri DOI to offer assistance to consumers. Several of the helpful hints provided include obtaining an estimate to help determine if a claim should be filed, retain receipts for purchased materials, Before making permanent repairs, contact the insurer, and be present during all inspections to your property. Also, complaints can be filed with the DOI, if consumers are not satisfied by their carrier's settlement offer.